People

Dr Sara L. Uckelman

Co-Director

E-mail: s.l.uckelman@durham.ac.uk | Website: Link | Twitter: @SaraLUckelman

Dr Sara Uckelman is a Lecturer of Philosophy at Durham University. She joined the department in 2014, having previously held research posts in Heidelberg, Tilburg, and Amsterdam.

Her primary research is in the realm of formal modeling and interactive logic. She is interested in bringing togther tools and techniques from modern logic and artificial intelligence to help explore and understand practices of reasoning and argumentation in historical contexts. Her personal research is primarily focused on developments in medieval Western Europe, particularly in medieval theories of obligationes.

She is also interested in abstract dialogue and argumentation systems, the influence of theology on the development of medieval logic, computational social choice and medieval economic and trade history.

Her research interests include Mathematical Logic; Medieval Modal, Temporal and Tense Logic; Onomastics; Philosophical Logic; Philosophy of Fiction and Philosophy of Language.

She is the Editor-in-Chief and Principal Investigator of the Dictionary of Medieval Names from European Sources, and an Associate Editor of Journal of Logic, Language, and Information.

Dr Phillip Horky (Research Interests: Ancient Philosophy, esp. Presocratics, Plato, the Early Academy, Aristotle)

Co-Director

E-mail: phillip.horky@durham.ac.uk | Website: Link | Twitter: @neo_pythagorean

Dr Phillip Sidney Horky is Associate Professor of Ancient Philosophy at Durham University. He arrived at Durham's Department of Classics & Ancient History in 2011, after fellowships at Stanford and Harvard's Center for Hellenic Studies.

His primary research concerns ancient philosophy, widely understood. He has published two books, a monograph Plato and Pythagoreanism (Oxford, 2013), and an edited volume Cosmos in the Ancient World (Cambridge, 2019). His articles focus on a wide range of authors, schools, and topics in ancient philosophy. Current interests include Aristotelian ethics, the philosophy of language in antiquity, and the Early Academy.

Dr Horky is co-PI for a major project under development, entitled Project Academy. Project Academy is a partnership of scholars based in Durham and Tϋbingen, with the aim of developing a major initiative in the study of the Platonic tradition. At the heart of this project will be a series of critical editions, English and German translations, and commentaries of the fragments (and testimonies) of the members of Plato’s Academy (ca. 380–266 BCE). He collaborates on this project with Prof. Dr. Irmgard Männlein-Robert (Tϋbingen).

Dr Horky is on the editorial boards of the Journal of Hellenic Studies (UK), Methexis: International Journal for Ancient Philosophy (Netherlands/Italy), and Archai: Revista de Estudos sobre as Origens do Pensamento Ocidental (Brazil). He is also co-editor of the Greece & Rome New Surveys in the Classics Series, published by Cambridge University Press, and a member of the journals editorial board for the Classical Association (UK). 

Staff and Research Fellows

Dr Myrthe Bartels

COFUND JRF from Sept. 2018

E-mail: myrthe.l.bartels@durham.ac.uk | Website: Link

Dr Elizabeth Biggs (Research Interests: Priory Library Project)

E-mail: elizabeth.c.biggs@durham.ac.uk | Website: Link

Prof. Nancy Cartwright (Research Interests: Aristotelian metaphysics and its role in modern science )

E-mail: nancy.cartwright@durham.ac.uk | Website: Link

Dr Andrea Capra (Research Interests: Classical philosophy (especially Plato) and poetry)

Dr Graziana Ciola (Research Interests: Logic and science in the 14th Century)

ZKS/Priory Library Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Prof. Serafina Cuomo (Research Interests: ancient mathematics and technology)

E-mail: serafina.cuomo@durham.ac.uk | Website: Link

Dr Jeremy Dunham (Research Interests: 17th-19th-century philosophy)

E-mail: Website: Link

Dr Patrick Gray (Research Interests: Shakespeare; Montaigne; Renaissance Literature; Classical Reception; Intellectual History; History of Emotions)

E-mail: patrick.gray@durham.ac.uk | Website: Link

Dr Jane Heath (Research Interests: Clement of Alexandria; New Testament; theology of the image / embodiment)

E-mail: j.m.f.heath@durham.ac.uk | Website: Link

Prof. Christopher Rowe (Emeritus)

E-mail: c.j.rowe@durham.ac.uk | Website: Link

Prof. Martin Ferguson Smith (Emeritus) (Research Interests: Epicureanism, esp. Diogenes of Oinoanda and Lucretius)

E-mail: m.f.smith@dur.ac.uk | Website: Link

Dr Elsa Simonetti (Research Interests: Plutarch, divination)

Newton International Fellow

E-mail: elsa.g.simonetti@durham.ac.uk

Dr Anders Dahl Sørensen

COFUND JRF from Sept. 2018

E-mail: anders.d.sorensen@durham.ac.uk | Website: Link

Dr Rik Van Nieuwenhove (Research Interests: Medieval theology, especially theology of the Trinity and soteriology; late-medieval spirituality of the Low Countries (especially Ruusbroec))

Assistant Professor of Medieval Thought

E-mail: rik.van-nieuwenhove@durham.ac.uk | Website: Link

Ms J T Wolfenden (Research Interests: Hellenistic Philosophy, esp. literary philosophy incl. Lucretius, Philodemus, Seneca, and Lucan)

E-mail: j.t.wolfenden@durham.ac.uk | Website: Link

Dr Emma Woolerton (Research Interests: Lucretius)

E-mail: emma.m.woolerton@durham.ac.uk

Postgraduates

Justin Allison (Research Interests: Epicurean and early Christian communities )

E-mail: justin.r.allison@durham.ac.uk | Website: Link

Giulia de Cesaris

E-mail: Website: Link

Annalisa Wilson (Research Interests: Stoic adiaphora and Paul)

E-mail: annalisa.p.wilson@durham.ac.uk

Visitors

Edoardo Benati (Research Interests: Plato, Early Academy)

Visiting student (Sept. 2018-July 2019)

E-mail: edoardo.benati@durham.ac.uk

Details of Edoardo's project can be found here.

Related Organisations

The following groups are also supportred by members of the Durham Centre for Ancient and Medieval Philosophy:

Institute of Medieval and Early Modern Studies

Durham Centre for Classical Reception

Northern Association for Ancient Philosophy

Yorkshire Ancient Philosophy Network